Step 3 – Talking about family / Über Familie reden

Getting to know someone, sooner or later, leads to talking about family. After all, everyone wants to know at least a litte bit about the family background of close acquaintances or friends.

Of course, it’s noteworthy that “family (die Familie)” can be defined very differently. Some say family and mean the “nuclear family (die Kernfamilie)”  – a father, a mother and their children.

But family can be more! What about the grandparents, the aunts and the uncles. Are they not family? I do believe that family has a broader range than the so-called nuclear family. It definitely  has to include the relatives (die Verwandten / die Verwandtschaft), because what would we be without our grandparents and other relatives (cousins,… ).

If we want to, we can even include others in our personal concept of family. Best friends or significant others of our relatives are often included.

Since everyone has a different idea of family, it’s probably advisable to talk about family, at least sometimes.

≈≈≈

Some of these words may be of use to you, if you want to talk about family:

Deutsch: English:
Familie (f) family
Kernfamilie (f) nuclear family
Verwandtschaft (f) relatives
Bruder (m) brother
Cousin (m) cousin
Cousine (f) cousin
Cousin zweiten Grades second cousin
Cousine zweiten Grades second cousin
Ehefrau (f) wife,
spouse
Ehemann (m) husband,
spouse
Eltern (pl) parents
Elternteil (m) parent
Freund (m) friend
Freundin (f) friend
Großcousin (m) great cousin
Großcousine (f) great cousin
Großeltern (pl) grandparents (pl)
Großmutter (f) grandmother
Großonkel (m) grandfather
Großtante (f) great-aunt,
grandaunt
Großvater (m) great-uncle,
granduncle
Kind (n) child
Kinder (pl) children
Lebensgefährte (m),
Lebenspartner (m),
Partner (m)
companion,
partner,
life partner,
partner in life,
significant other,
spouse,
common-law spouse
Lebensgefährtin (f),
Lebenspartnerin (f),
Partnerin (f)
companion,
partner,
life partner,
partner in life,
significant other,
spouse,
common-law spouse
Mama (f) mum (AE),
mom (BE),
mama,
momma,
mommy
Mutter (f) mother
Oma (f) grandma,
grandmother,
granny,
gran,
nana
Opa (m) grandpa,
grandfather,
grandad,
granddad,
gramps
Papa (m) dad,
daddy,
papa,
pa,
pop,
poppa
Schwester (f) sister
Sohn (m) son
Tochter (f) daughter

≈≈≈

If you’ve just started learning German, you might find the following quite useful:

Ich habe… I have…
Ich liebe… I love…
Ich mag… I like…
Meine Familie ist… My family is…
Meine Mutter ist… My mother is…
Mein Vater ist… My father is…
Meine Großeltern leben… My grandparents live…

Some (fictional) examples, starting with “I have.. / Ich habe…”:

Ich habe einen Ehemann. I have a husband.
Ich habe eine Ehefrau. I have a wife.
Ich habe Kinder. I have children.
Ich habe keine Kinder. I don’t have children.
Ich habe eine Tochter und einen Sohn. I have a daughter and a son
Ich habe zehn Tanten und zwei Onkel. I have ten aunts and two uncles.
Ich habe zwei Kinder und meinen Ehemann / meine Ehefrau. Ich have two children and my husband / my wife.

As you can see, “Ich habe..” can be used to tell others about your family, the number of family members and of course also about the degree of relationship between you and them.

“Ich habe” is the first person singular of “haben”. Please note that you can conjugate this verb and use it in the same manner as “Ich habe”. An example:

  • Ich habe eine Familie. (1.Pers.Sing.)
  • Du hast eine Familie. (2.Pers. Sing.)
  • Er hat eine Familie./Sie hat eine Familie./Es hat eine Familie. (3. Pers. Sing.)
  • Wir haben eine Familie.(1. Pers. Plur.)
  • Ihr habt eine Familie.(2. Pers. Plur.)
  • Sie haben eine Familie. (3. Pers. Plur.)

 

Ich liebe meinen Ehemann. I love my husband.
Ich liebe meine Ehefrau. I love my wife.
Ich liebe meine Kinder. I love my children.
Ich liebe meine Freundin. I love my friend.
Ich liebe meinen Freund. I love my friend.

The conjugation of the German verb “lieben”:

  • Ich liebe meine Kinder.
  • Du liebst meine Kinder.
  • Er liebt meine Kinder./Sie liebt meine Kinder./Es liebt meine Kinder.
  • Wir lieben meine Kinder.
  • Ihr liebt meine Kinder.
  • Sie lieben meine Kinder.

 

Meine Familie ist ziemlich groß. My family is quite large.
Ich habe mehrere Kinder, viele Tanten und Onkel und sehr viele Cousinen und Cousins. I have several children, many aunts and uncles and a great number of cousins.
Meine Familie ist eher klein. My family is rather small.

The word “meine” is a possessive pronoun (besitzanzeigendes Fürwort / Possessivpronomen). At a later point in time, I’ll write more about possessive pronouns.

They’re truly quite fascinating, at least if you know more about them. As they are declinable, it’s necessary to know about them.  One example:

  • Meine Familie ist eher klein.
  • Deine Familie ist eher klein.
  • Seine Familie ist eher klein. /Ihre Familie ist eher klein. / Seine Familie ist eher klein.
  • Unsere Familie ist eher klein.
  • Eure Familie ist eher klein.
  • Ihre Familie ist eher klein.

 

Meine Großeltern leben in meinem Geburtsort. My grandparents live in my place of birth.
Meine Großeltern leben in Amsterdam. My grandparents live in Amsterdam.

The conjugation of the German verb “leben”:

  • ich lebe
  • du lebst
  • er lebt / sie lebt / es lebt
  • wir leben
  • ihr lebt
  • sie leben

 

Meine Mutter ist Kellnerin. My mother is a waitress.
Meine Mutter ist Polizistin. My mother is a policewoman
Meine Mutter ist krank. My mother is ill.
Meine Mutter ist gesund. My mother is healthy.
My mother is well.
Mein Vater ist Rentner. My father is a pensioner.
Mein Vater ist Lehrer. My father is a teacher.
Mein Vater ist hier. My father is here.
Mein Vater ist zuhause. My father is at home.

The conjugation of the German verb “sein”:

  • ich bin
  • du bist
  • er ist / sie ist / es ist
  • wir sind
  • ihr seid
  • sie sind

≈≈≈

At this point you should know enough to do this exercise:

 

Imagine you’re sitting at a table, perhaps with a steaming cup of tea or coffee in front of you, and a good friend just asked you “What about your family? You never told me anything about them.”

What would you say, if you’d have to answer him in German?

Write it down on a piece of paper or in your exercise book.

Leave a Reply

